My top 5 most anticipated 2017 musicals

This year we’re going to see some amazing musicals! Here’s my top 5 picks for the rest of the 16-17 season

City Center

A scene from “Sunday in the Park with George” Credit: Stephanie Berger

5. Sunday in the Park With George- As the only revival on this list, I have to say that I’m extremely excited for this certain revival mostly because of the cast. As a huge Bernadette Peters fan, it’s hard seeing anyone besides her playing Dot, but I think it’s safe to say the role is in good hands with Annaleigh Ashford. The revival also stars Jake Gyllenhaal. The show opens on February 23rd.

anatasia-hartford.jpg

4. Anastasia- This was one of my favorites when I was younger and now I’m so excited to see it on one of my favorite places! And, I’m a SUCKER for anything with Derek Klena. Also, this show has gotten great reviews from its out of town run, and I cant wait to see how it does in the great white way. The new musical begins on April 24th.

amelie-poster

3. Amelie- Starring two of my favorite stars, Phillipa Soo and Adam Chanler-Berat, this musical already has buzz about it. Even though it just began its out of town run, this new musical keeps looking sweeter and sweeter. Amelie opens on April 3rd.

bandstand

2. Bandstand- Much like Amelie, I am absolutely obsessed with the cast of this show. Starring Laura Osnes the Broadway princess, soon to be father Corey Cott, and legend Beth Leavel, this show with some 50’s swing is definitely one of my top picks. The show is set to open on April 26th.

warpaint

1.  War Paint- I was lucky enough to see the fantastic musical in Chicago and walked away astounded. The set, the choreography, the music, the cast, everything is marvelous. While I do believe Dear Evan Hansen is going to sweep this year at the Tonys, War Paint could definitely snatch a few. The show, starring Patti Lupone and Christine Ebersole, opens on April 6th

Leave a Reply

